Love and War (2010)

Love and War (2010)

In his startling new work Mark Bruce uses theatre-in-the-round and a soundtrack including Sparklehorse, The White Stripes, Queens of the Stone Age and György Ligeti, to plunge the imagination into a raw arena of the otherworld. Time shifts and figures from myth and ritual collide; Gods emerge amongst frenzied cheerleaders, murderous strangers, dogs of war and bedraggled homecoming queens, in a heart-searching dance work of savage beauty.

"Love and War is the Mark Bruce Company’s latest full-length production since its critically acclaimed Sea of Bones. “Bruce’s choreography has never looked more inventive, with classically based moves twisted into ferocious gestures of destruction or strung out into decadent ennui. The dancers are excellent.” (Sea of Bones)"
The Guardian

Premiere: 7 May 2010 at the Tobacco Factory Theatre, Mayfest

Choreography and Direction: Mark Bruce
Cast: Greig Cooke, Eleanor Duval, Darren Ellis, Joanne Fong, Caroline Hotchkiss, Elizabeth Mischler, Ino Riga
Light: Guy Hoare
Design: Marian Bruce
Artwork for Stage: Paul Boswell, Rachel Macleay, Marian Bruce
Costume Maker: Lucia Snell
Special Effect: Pickled Image and Max Humphries
Designer’s Assistant/Supervisor: Luned Aaron

Running Time: 70 minutes, no interval
Suitable for Ages 13+

Download the Love and War Programme (PDF)

7, 8 May Tobacco Factory, Mayfest Box Office: 0117 902 0344 www.tobaccofactorytheatre.com Bristol

12 May The Castle Box Office: 0193 327 0007 www.thecastle.org.uk Wellingborough

14 May The Black-E Box Office: 0151 709 5109 www.theblack-e.co.uk Liverpool

18, 19 May Merlin Theatre Box Office: 01373 465949 www.merlintheatre.co.uk Frome

25, 26 May Stephen Joseph Theatre Box Office: 01723 370541 www.sjt.uk.com Scarborough

3, 4, 5 June The Place Box Office: 020 7121 1100 www.theplace.org.uk London

18, 19 June The Sage Gateshead Box Office: 0191 443 4661 www.thesagegateshead.org Gateshead

24, 25 June Exeter Northcott Box Office: 01392 493493 www.exeternorthcott.co.uk Exeter

1,2,3 July The Studio, Royal Exchange Box Office: 0161 833 9833 www.royalexchange.co.uk Manchester

8,9 July Oxford Playhouse at O2 Academy Box Office: 01865 305305 www.oxfordplayhouse.com Oxford

"Joanne Fong drowning her husband to "I hate the way you love" by The Kills in Mark Bruce's Love and War at The Place. 1 of Luke Jennings' top 11 Dance Highlights of 2010." The Observer

Debra Craine, Critic's choice: The Times, 26 June 2010

Time Out London Critics' Choice

"...a bold, passionate and provocative new piece of work.... This ensemble is one of the most exciting and dynamic dance groups that I have ever seen." The Public Reviews

"... this is a stunning piece of work..... If you can imagine a world inhabited with cheerleaders, tightrope walkers, Natural Born Killers, ingenues, rock stars and gods - all jostling for your attention - this is Love and War." What's On Stage

"The seven characters in Love and War turn out to be darker and more potent than any circus troupe." The Guardian

"Love And War is an intoxicating carnival of emotions that's bursting with violent passion, rich symbolism and genuine beauty. It's very dark and very, very good." Suit Yourself Magazine

"This magical otherworld tinged with darkness is brought to life by the superb dancers...It's fascinating to watch it unfold." Make Me Neon

"....the irony is wonderfully apposite..." Observer

"... the seven performers who not only vividly created a wide variety of individual characters, but worked together as a team in a manner that would be the envy of any of the Managers of the top Premier football clubs." Bristol Evening Post

"....there is no denying the sheer force of the dance..." Liverpool Daily Post

"...it is simply magical." remotegoat

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

Sign Up to the Mark Bruce Company mailing list